Chetham’s Symphony Orchestra: Shostakovich Symphony No. 12

  • Friday 20 October 2017 - 7.30pm
  • The Bridgewater Hall
  • £20; £18.20 senior; £11 u16

Book tickets

  • Oliver Burrow - clarinet
    Stephen Threlfall - conductor
  • TCHAIKOVSKY Festival Overture: The Year 1812
    COPLAND Concerto for Clarinet
    SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 12: The Year 1917

A major symphonic programme, performed by Chetham’s stunning young players in response to the centenary of the Russian Revolution. The concert opens with Tchaikovsky’s celebratory 1812 Overture, marking the successful defence of Russia against Napoleon’s forces. 16-year old clarinetist Oliver Burrow performs a work born out of the 1940s jazz era, commissioned by Benny Goodman – ‘The King of Swing’.
Dedicated to Lenin and completed in 1961, Shostakovich’s 12th Symphony is a monumental, programmatic work portraying the events of 1917 – an epic year in Russian history, with the assassination of the Romanov dynasty heralding the country’s headlong journey into Revolution.

Inside the Orchestra attendees will receive a 30% discount code
Prices include a £2 per ticket booking fee